SocialAPI.ai
Blog

How Much Does the X API Cost in 2026? Pay-Per-Use Rates, the $0.20 Link Post and the Read Cap

Erwan Prost

Erwan Prost

Founder, SocialAPI.ai

Published
Reading time
9 min
On this page

The X API is billed per action, not per subscription. On the official pricing page, checked 18 October 2026, creating a post costs $0.015 per request, creating a post that contains a URL costs $0.200, reading a Post costs $0.005 per resource, reading a DM event costs $0.010 per resource, and pay-per-use plans are capped at 3 million Post reads per monthly billing cycle.

The link surcharge is the number that changes budgets. A post with a URL costs 13.3 times a post without one, so 10,000 posts a month cost $150 as plain text and $2,000 if every one carries a link. X's changelog dates the model: the 6 February 2026 entry says X "officially launched X API Pay-Per-Use pricing", and the 16 April 2026 entry (effective 20 April) states the $0.015 and $0.20 post prices and the $0.001 owned-read price.

How much does each X API action cost in 2026?

Writes are billed per request and reads per resource returned. The table lists every price shown on the official pricing page, checked 18 October 2026 (X API pricing).

ActionPriceBilled per
Post create$0.015request
Post create with URL$0.200request
Post create, summoned reply$0.010request
DM interaction create$0.015request
Post read$0.005resource returned
User read$0.010resource returned
DM event read$0.010resource returned
Owned read$0.001resource returned
Like read, mute read, block read$0.001resource returned

"Billed per resource returned" is the line that surprises people. A search that returns 100 Posts costs $0.50, and re-reading 100 DM events costs $1.00, whatever the HTTP request count was. An owned read applies when the user ID in the request matches the authenticated user and that user owns the developer app, which is why reading your own timeline is five times cheaper than reading someone else's.

The $0.010 summoned reply is listed separately from the standard post price. The page does not say what qualifies, so budget ordinary replies at $0.015 unless you have confirmed the summoned rate applies to your calls.

Price per action, X API pay-per-use (USD)
Post create with URL0.2Post create0.015DM event read0.01Post read0.005Owned read0.001

Prices as listed on 18 October 2026. Writes are per request, reads per resource returned.

Source: X API pricing, checked 18 October 2026

The arithmetic uses only the two post prices above. A link in every post multiplies the bill by 13.3, and the cost grows linearly with the share of posts that carry one.

Link sharePlain postsPosts with URLMonthly cost
0%10,0000$150
10%9,0001,000$335
50%5,0005,000$1,075
100%010,000$2,000
Monthly cost of 10,000 posts by link share
0% LINKS10% LINKS50% LINKS100% LINKSMonthly cost (USD)Plain-text baseline (USD)

Computed from $0.015 per plain post and $0.200 per post with a URL.

Every link you move out of a post costs $0.185 less. Whether a URL in a reply is billed at the URL price is not stated on the pricing page, so measure one call in the Developer Console before you rely on it.

Reads follow the same arithmetic. 100,000 Post reads in a month cost $500. Reading up to the cap of 3 million Post reads costs $15,000, which is the most a pay-per-use account can spend on Post reads in one cycle.

What is the 3 million Post read cap?

The pricing page says: "Pay-per-usage plans are capped at 3 million Post reads per monthly billing cycle." Some third-party pages still say 2 million, a figure an earlier version of the same page carried. The page checked on 18 October 2026 says 3 million. If you need more, the page says to move to an Enterprise plan.

The cap counts Post reads only. It does not count writes, DM events or user lookups, so an account can stay under the cap and still run out of credits. Identical resources requested more than once inside the same 24-hour UTC day are deduplicated for billing. The page calls this a "soft guarantee", so do not build a cost forecast on it.

The cap counts Post reads only, so an account can sit under it and still run out of credits.

What changed when pay-per-use launched on 6 February 2026?

X API access model changes, August 2025 to April 2026
Free loses likes22 Aug 2025Closed pay-per-use pilot20 Oct 2025Pay-per-use launches6 Feb 2026New prices, likes cut16 Apr 2026Aug 2025Oct 2025Dec 2025Feb 2026Apr 2026Changelog entries

Dates from X's developer changelog.

DateChange
22 August 2025Like and follow write endpoints removed from the Free tier
20 October 2025Closed pay-per-use pilot at $0.005 per Post read and $0.01 per content create
6 February 2026Pay-per-use launches. Existing subscribers can opt in. Recently active Free users get a one-time $10 voucher
16 April 2026, effective 20 AprilPost price set at $0.015, URL posts at $0.20, owned reads at $0.001. Following, likes and quote posts removed from all self-serve tiers

The changelog says Basic and Pro stayed available at launch. It carries no entry that forces a migration of either tier, so this post does not state a cutover date for them (X developer changelog, checked 18 October 2026). Many guides still list Free, Basic and Pro as the current options.

Which X API actions are gone from self-serve plans?

X's 16 April 2026 changelog entry states: "Following, Likes, and Quote-Posts via the API have been removed from all self-serve tiers." The change took effect on 20 April 2026. A self-serve app that still calls the like or follow write endpoints should expect a rejection, and the only route back is an Enterprise contract. Read endpoints for likes stay priced at $0.001 per resource.

Check the exact error against your own app before you code a branch on it. The live documentation does not publish a reason string for these rejections.

What do the two kinds of 429 mean on the X API?

X's rate limit page documents one 429: the window is exceeded, the body carries code 88, and the three headers x-rate-limit-limit, x-rate-limit-remaining and x-rate-limit-reset tell you when to resume.

json
{"errors": [{"code": 88, "message": "Rate limit exceeded"}]}

In our production traffic in September 2026, a second case surfaced: a 429 whose problem type was https://api.x.com/2/problems/usage-capped. It appeared when credits ran out, a spending limit was reached, or the monthly read cap was hit. Waiting for x-rate-limit-reset does not clear it, because no window is involved. The rate limit page does not use the term "usage-capped", so this part rests on observation, not documentation.

SignalCauseClears when
429, code 8815-minute window exceededthe reset time in x-rate-limit-reset
429, usage-cappedcredits, spend limit or read cap exhaustedcredits are added, the limit is raised, or the next billing cycle starts

Read the type before you set a retry timer. A client that backs off for 15 minutes on a usage-capped 429 retries into the same wall. For the window-based limits on every other platform, see the rate limits guide.

How does SocialAPI.ai handle X usage caps?

SocialAPI.ai connects X accounts through your own X developer app, so X bills the per-action charges above to your developer account. When your app runs out of credits or hits its spending limit, the API answers 402 platform.twitter.usage_capped instead of a rate-limit error, so you know to add credits rather than wait (errors guide). Platform detail is on the X platform page.

Questions developers ask about X API pricing

How much does the X API cost in 2026?
X bills per action. On 18 October 2026 a post costs $0.015, a post containing a URL costs $0.200, a Post read costs $0.005 and a DM event read costs $0.010. There is no minimum spend on pay-per-use, and X states prices are subject to change.
Why does a post with a link cost $0.20?
X lists post creation with a URL as a separate price of $0.200 per request, against $0.015 without one. The pricing page gives no rationale. Moving links out of the post is the only lever the page documents, and whether a URL in a reply is billed at the URL price is not stated.
What is the Post read cap on pay-per-use?
Pay-per-use plans are capped at 3 million Post reads per monthly billing cycle, according to the pricing page on 18 October 2026. At $0.005 per read that is $15,000. The page says to move to an Enterprise plan if you need more.
Can I still like or follow through the X API?
Not on self-serve plans. X's 16 April 2026 changelog entry says following, likes and quote posts via the API were removed from all self-serve tiers, effective 20 April 2026. Reading likes remains available at $0.001 per resource.
Why does my X API call return 429 after the reset time?
You may be hitting a usage cap, not a rate window. A 429 with code 88 clears at x-rate-limit-reset. A 429 with problem type usage-capped means credits, a spending limit or the monthly read cap ran out, and waiting does not clear it.

Every X claim above traces to a page on docs.x.com, checked 18 October 2026. The usage-capped 429 is a first-party observation from September 2026 and is labelled as such. X API pricing, X developer changelog, X API rate limits, SocialAPI.ai errors guide

Keep reading

  • Best social media MCP servers 2026: 10 compared for AI agents

    Ten social media MCP servers ranked for Claude, Cursor and ChatGPT: SocialAPI.ai, Zernio, Upload-Post, Ayrshare, Blotato, Outstand, Buffer, Postiz, bundle.social and OpenTweet. A capability matrix shows which ones read and reply to comments, DMs and reviews, which are hosted with OAuth, and what each costs, all checked against vendor docs on 30 September 2026.

    15 min read
  • Instagram Accounts Are Limited to 100 API-Published Posts: The Real 24-Hour Limit (2026)

    Meta's content publishing guide says 100 API-published posts per 24-hour moving period. The content_publishing_limit endpoint and the media_publish reference both say 50. What is enforced today, how the rolling window works, the exact error you get, and how to keep a scheduler under the cap.

    12 min read
  • Instagram Graph API Media Insights: Does It Return a Shares Metric? (2026)

    Yes. shares is a documented media insights metric on Feed posts, Reels, and Stories, requested with metric=shares on a media id, and since 22 April 2026 a shares_count media field exists on Facebook Login. The full metric-by-media-type table as of September 2026, the exact request and response, the permission it needs, and the six reasons the call fails or comes back empty.

    13 min read

Ready to unify your social interactions?

Free tier available. No credit card required. Ships with the MCP server.